L'Apocalypse Des Animaux

a look at the music of Vangelis Papathanassiou

L’Apocalypse Des Animaux” is the title of an early-seventies documentary series made by Frédéric Rossif about the animal kingdom. The series consists of six episodes, each of which has been provided with music by Vangelis.

Considering the music for "L'Apocalypse des Animaux" has been created as early as 1970, apparently the same year when the episodes were broadcast on French television, the series marks the first in a life-long friendship and collaboration between Vangelis and Frédéric Rossif.

Other wildlife documentary series and films by Frédéric Rossif that Vangelis provided a musical score for include  "La Fête Sauvage" (1976),  "L'Opera Sauvage" (1979) and "Sauvage Et Beau" (1984).

Details and Credits
"L'Apocalypse Des Animaux" (France, 1971)
Length: 6 episodes of about 50 minutes each.

The episodes are titled as follows:


De L’Abeille Au Gorille (From The Bee To The Gorilla)


Les Animaux Et Les Hommes (Animals And Humans)


Une Memoire D’Elephant (A Record Of The Elephant)


Traquer Le Chasseur (Chasing The Hunter)


La Peur Du Loup (Fear Of The Wolf)


L’Enfant Et La Mer (The Child And The Sea)

Directed by Frédéric Rossif.
Assistent-director: Jean-Charles Cuttoli

Music by Vangelis Papathanassiou
Text by François Billetdoux.
Dialog by Pierre Vaneck
Cameraman: Bernard Zitzermann
Sound Engineer: Harald Maury
Montage: Dominique Caseneuve

Producer: Michelle Wiart
Produced by Télé-Hachette

The series has been issued on VHS by Editions Montparnasse in France, Belgium and Italy in 1990.

1990 "L'apocalypse des Animaux" Editions Montparnasse France (SECAM)
1990 "L'apocalypse des Animaux" RTBF Video (PAL)
1990 "L'Apocalisse degli Animali" VideoRAI/OASIS Italy

Any of the videos are very hard to find nowadays. Note that the six videos in France and Belgium are released both in single plastic hardcover case, as well as a all-videos-in-one cardboard boxset.


Leaflet accompanying the French VHS video release 

Front - Episode 1, 2 and 3

Back - Episode 4, 5 and 6